9 June 1919 diary of Dr John Stewart Muir (1845-1938) of Selkirk

Left at 9.30 + motored to Edinburgh via Gala. Took exactly 1 hour to the G.P.O. Called at Lourie’s + got a little opera glass + a compass: at Forsyth’s + got a collar + a soft hat. Went to the store to get a stand up soft collar but they had none. They are evidently quite out of fashion. Called at H & I [Hamilton & Inches, jeweller] + paid for the motor clock I gave D. [David Graham, co-partner]. Met Molly Bullough at [illegible] at 12.30 + went to Glenlee for lunch. Baptie following. Then Molly, Miss Forsyth + I had a run to Fort Street1 (where I saw the old home) through Leith to Portobello and Duddingston. Came home via Peebles in 2 h 10 m. Developed an inflamed left little toe. Thought the pain was in the corn but it wasn’t. Hope it isn’t gangrene.

1 Newhaven to Ferry Road area; the family lived at 15 North Fort Street while Muir’s father the Reverend Francis Muir was Minister of St Thomas Junction Road Parish Church, Great Junction Street, Leith

[Source: Scottish Borders Archives & Local History Service SBA/657/22, Dr J S Muir of Selkirk, medical practitioner, journal for 1919]

Published by

rumblingclint

Archivist, interests include Dr John Stewart Muir 1845-1938) of Selkirk, general practitioner, and Seton Paul Gordon (1886–1977), naturalist, author and photographer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s