8 June 1919 diary of Dr John Stewart Muir (1845-1938) of Selkirk

Brilliant morning: + a fine day with strong S.W. wind + dust galore. Walked to Forest Road, Curror Street, Raeburn Meadow. Went to forenoon service. Pollok called about raising Mellalieu’s salary1. Went to a very short meeting to appoint 2 Presbytery elders. As in the house all afternoon. Wrote Jean [Muir] giving the information I had from Dr [illegible] + enclosing Mrs Gallop’s letter. Wrote McDonald at Crecy House2. Went to evening service. Jack, Nancy, Dav., Norah + Major McDonald came to supper. Drizzly shower at night. Baptie came back from his holiday.

1 William Norman Mellalieu (1887-1952), music teacher and organist, mentioned several times previously in Dr Muir’s diary; Pollock is John Pollok (1858-1938), Town Clerk and Procurator Fiscal, Selkirk

2 Crecy House, Isle of Whithorn; on 7 April 1919 Dr Muir had written to his friend James C R Macdonald, writer to the signet, of 1 Newall Terrace, Dumfries, saying that he would be unable to join him and his wife Kate (Katherine) at Whithorn at the end of May

[Source: Scottish Borders Archives & Local History Service SBA/657/22, Dr J S Muir of Selkirk, medical practitioner, journal for 1919]

Published by

rumblingclint

Archivist, interests include Dr John Stewart Muir 1845-1938) of Selkirk, general practitioner, and Seton Paul Gordon (1886–1977), naturalist, author and photographer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s