6 July 1920 diary of Dr John Stewart Muir (1845-1938) of Selkirk

Raining this forenoon from N.E, faired in afternoon + wind W.N.W. Ran down in motor to Mauldsheugh + found out what was to be done, as D. [David Graham] wanted to go to Edinburgh. Came back + saw some town cases on my way to Mrs Wood1, Sunderland Hall Lodge. Then I went to Colin’s Bridge, Kirkhope Cottages, Shankend + Crook Cottage. Jas. Johnstone’s wife2 has developed Phthisis. Took tea for Baptie3 + self which we had at the 20th milestone. Got back at 4.30 + saw some more town cases. Had consultation till 7.15 + wrote Nancy4. Was disappointed to find the promise of fruit on plum tree + apples was gone but the strawberries are doing well.

1 William Wood, forester, was the Inhabitant Occupier of a house East Lodge, Sunderland Hall, Selkirk, 1920 Valuation Roll

2 Unidentified

3 Thomas Baptie (1860-1929), driver and handyman for Dr Muir

4 Agnes Amelia ‘Nancy’ Roberts née Muir (1878-1948), Dr Muir’s second daughter

[Source: Scottish Borders Archives & Local History Service SBA/657/23, Dr J S Muir of Selkirk, medical practitioner, journal for 1920]

Published by

rumblingclint

Archivist, interests include Dr John Stewart Muir 1845-1938) of Selkirk, general practitioner, and Seton Paul Gordon (1886–1977), naturalist, author and photographer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s