18 April 1920 diary of Dr John Stewart Muir (1845-1938) of Selkirk

Heard Willow Wren1 near Greenhead.

Not such a brilliant morning as yesterday but the sun shone out by 9 + it was a glorious day up till 4 or 5 when it became darker. S.E. + then S.W. [wind] + glass dropping again. I went to bed only partially undressed last night expecting to be called up for Mrs Murray but nothing happened. Cycled to Yarrow Terrace + saw D. [Dr Graham] dress Mrs Nichol: then went on to Bannerfield, Ravensheugh + Broomfield where I a ‘Phone [sic] had come for me to see Mrs Murray, Backfeus2 + I found all over when I arrived3 . Mrs Colville4 had managed. Walked out to Greenhead. Went to evening service with Do. [Dora Muir]. David [Graham] left for London, motoring to Gala to catch the Pullman. Lumgair motored him in the afternoon to Rinkhope, Ramseycleuch + Borthwickbrae.

1 The Willow Warbler Phylloscopus trochilus; Dr Muir is anachronistic in naming it a Wren (the name was standardised in the 1840s), though it may have been what he was taught as a young boy with an interest in nature

2 Back Fues, Selkirk, almost opposite Viewfield

3 Assume Charles Baxter Murray, born 1920

3 Mrs Colville may be Mary Colville née Douglas of Bridge Street, Selkirk, the wife of Alexander Colville

[Source: Scottish Borders Archives & Local History Service SBA/657/23, Dr J S Muir of Selkirk, medical practitioner, journal for 1920]

Published by

rumblingclint

Archivist, interests include Dr John Stewart Muir 1845-1938) of Selkirk, general practitioner, and Seton Paul Gordon (1886–1977), naturalist, author and photographer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s