24 July 1919 diary of Dr John Stewart Muir (1845-1938) of Selkirk

Cycled in town where I saw 8 cases + then to Bowhill where Capt Scott (a younger brother of the factor) + his family are living in the laundry. I vaccinated their baby. Came back by Kirkwynd + Briarbank. D. [Dr David Graham] motored in to Edinburgh. I have to see Bella Henderson every evening + give her a hypo of morphia. Helen [Muir] busy making preparations for her journey to Charley Norfolk [?]. Was at Elmpark seeing And[drew] Gibbons + Mrs Mackintosh with her usual open handedness gave me a bunch of grapes, a bottle of Port + a pot of some sort of relish. Saw May Tait again: a sad sad case!1

1 The Editor believes this refers to May Tait (c.1880-), daughter of Peter A Tait, tweed manufacturer, and his wife Mary

[Source: Scottish Borders Archives & Local History Service SBA/657/22, Dr J S Muir of Selkirk, medical practitioner, journal for 1919]

Published by

rumblingclint

Archivist, interests include Dr John Stewart Muir 1845-1938) of Selkirk, general practitioner, and Seton Paul Gordon (1886–1977), naturalist, author and photographer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s