7 April 1919 diary of Dr John Stewart Muir (1845-1938) of Selkirk

A dry coldish day with twice a minute sprinkling of rain. A little sun in the morning. Saw 14 town cases cycling. Dav [Dr David Graham] was at Yarrowford, Fairnilea + at night had to go down to Bridgelands to see a child of Hardie, the gardener. Finished making out the D.D.M.S. accounts to the number of 57 + the value of £20 8 6. Wrote McDonald, Dumfries, that I would be unable to join him + Kate at the Isle in [sic] the end of May2. This was the Spring holiday but I had a lot of people in [to surgery] at night.

1 Deputy Director Medical Services

2 Assume Katherine Macdonald or McDonald and her husband James C R Macdonald, writer to the signet, of 1 Newall Terrace, Dumfries – Dr Muir has referred to them previously c.f. diary entry for 17 September 1918 – and the Isle is the Isle of Whithorn

[Source: Scottish Borders Archives & Local History Service SBA/657/22, Dr J S Muir of Selkirk, medical practitioner, journal for 1919]

Published by

rumblingclint

Archivist, interests include Dr John Stewart Muir 1845-1938) of Selkirk, general practitioner, and Seton Paul Gordon (1886–1977), naturalist, author and photographer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s