26 January 1919 diary of Dr John Stewart Muir (1845-1938) of Selkirk

Change of weather: some very slight showers of snow with a clear sky + sunshine. No frost showing except on shaded pavement. Hoped to get to church but got message to Palfrey, Broomfield. I was a long time at Mr Crozier’s arranging for him to go to Edinburgh. Went on to Hospital + back to Palfrey. In afternoon called to Ross, Glenlora (baby)1. No county work. David asked to see Charlie Roberts. Indeed nanny advised Charlie to consult D!2 May I be kept from jealousy + depression! Finished the accounts + got them all put up for sending out. Supped at Wellwood. Charlie Roberts there. Jean couldn’t go as Bella was ill3.

1 Sinclair Ross, solicitor, was proprietor at Glenlora, Viewfield Park, Selkirk, on 1918 Valuation Roll

2 Dr Muir is again disappointed by a person close to him consulting someone else (the Dunlops at Whitmuirhall had done so in early 1916 “Got a terrible shock from a letter of Mrs Dunlop’s announcing that she has been ill & had called in another medical man as ‘we thought we would rather have a younger man.’ “)

3 Isabella ‘Bella’ Paulin (b.1873), the Muir family housekeeper

[Source: Scottish Borders Archives & Local History Service SBA/657/22, Dr J S Muir of Selkirk, medical practitioner, journal for 1919]

Published by

rumblingclint

Archivist, interests include Dr John Stewart Muir 1845-1938) of Selkirk, general practitioner, and Seton Paul Gordon (1886–1977), naturalist, author and photographer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s